Home > Recruiting > Don’t Jinx It

Don’t Jinx It

So today I broke one of my rules.  We have an offer on the table that our candidate will probably accept tomorrow and I put it on the spreadsheet as filled.  I’ve been burned by doing that enough times in the past that I know it should never be done.  You never count your chickens before they hatch.  You never take the risk of jinxing it. 

Business is pretty good right now by the numbers that count……positions filled, revenues, profits.  Job flow is still just okay, which tells me that business conditions out there are not great.  So I don’t dare take the risk of assuming that we are in the clear until more than enough evidence is in.  Reality?  Things have improved and in recruiting as it stands, good business is being done.  I hope it continues to build.  I hope our candidate accepts the offer tomorrow.

Todd Kmiec

Todd Kmiec & Associates

todd@toddkmiec.com

  1. May 13, 2010 at 10:51 am

    Yeah. Don’t ever do that. I hope he takes it too. What possessed you to do such a thing?
    😉
    Back when I used to receive very large checks I counted them – when they were in my hand and ONLY to make sure the percentage was correct. To do otherwise would have been unwise. It was a hard and fast rule.

    I hope it doesn’t hold for you on this one – let us know though!

  2. toddkmiec
    May 13, 2010 at 10:13 pm

    Phew. He did accept. No justification to act like a rookie though. I am re-committing to the rule. 🙂

  3. Jenn Asson
    May 14, 2010 at 7:12 pm

    Todd,

    Congrats on the candidate accepting the offer.

    Jenn Asson

  4. June 1, 2010 at 2:39 pm

    I was out this last weekend and ran into one of my hiring managers…She asked how business was going with another one of the hiring managers from the same company. I told her great and I was about to get another fill Tuesday (Today) after they spoke with a candidate one more time. I immediately felt the “jinx” feeling in my stomache. Thanks for this post.
    PS….send positive thoughts that this doesn’t jinx it!

  5. toddkmiec
    June 1, 2010 at 2:44 pm

    Sending good karma your way. 🙂

    Let us know how it turns out.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

