Home > Recruiting > Random Thoughts On Recruiting – The Value of Assessments

Random Thoughts On Recruiting – The Value of Assessments

December 21, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

We’ve been setting up a lot of candidate assessments recently.  We don’t do them.  Clients set up the various assessment providers that they want.  For the most part, I don’t trust the assessment results.

I think we would all be a lot better off without assessments at all.  It takes time, costs money, and I think more importantly that it causes a lot of wasted time by eliminating good candidates.  For the most part, when you sit down with and interview a candidate you have an interest in, you can tell if they are the person or a person that you want to hire.

There have been cases where a certain type of position generates a lot of potential candidates and the assessments help to weed the field and eliminate candidates.  The problem is, even in those cases, I have felt that there may be good candidates being eliminated in the process and still making the search more difficult.  Overall, I think tighter specs are a better way to narrow the field.  You can tighten the geographic area or industry backgrounds that are acceptable, or add a requirement that would be a plus normally. 

I know there are arguments on both sides of this, but over the years my experience has been that assessments do more harm than good.

Todd Kmiec

Todd Kmiec and Associates

todd@toddkmiec.com

  1. December 28, 2010 at 11:57 pm

    Todd,
    Just read this post and I’m in agreement. I’ve used assessments in the past while working in corporate America with some success but never developed any deep confidence. While recruiting, I’ve seen many talented candidates eliminated from consideration due to an assessment.

    I’m convinced that thorough interviewing, referencing and background research will yield better results.

    These are my thoughts and I enjoy your blog.

  2. Jon Abrams
    December 30, 2010 at 2:19 pm

    I could not agree more with your comment on assessments. I was excluded from an opportunity after spending two hours on a phone interview, that went extremely well, following a personality assessment. I was extremely qualified for the position, and had achieved numerous objectives in the past that the employer was seeking. I think companies miss good candidates, and waste a lot of money on this practice when they make decisions soley on the outcome of an assessment.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

