Home > Recruiting > Random Thoughts On Recruiting – The Things We “Live” For

Random Thoughts On Recruiting – The Things We “Live” For

Tonight Duke plays North Carolina in the final regular season basketball game for the two schools and the winner will win the ACC regular season title.  Around here people “live” for this. 

Now don’t get me wrong, the game is a big deal to me.  I love the Tar Heels and really enjoy the whole basketball season, but especially the Duke games.  There is a ton of pressure and they are really exciting.  But I don’t live for these games.  This weekend I’ll take my son out to work on a boy scout service project, my other son to his basketball game, my daughter to her soccer game, all to church on Sunday and I got to go out for a nice dinner with my wife last night for a couple of hours.  These are the things I live for.  And running this business.  While most business owners live for family first, they also live for their businesses.

I consider all third party recruiters to be business owners to some degree.  They own their candidate databases, provide a service, and are responsible for P&L and everything that makes the P and the L.  A while back, another business owner told me a story of someone who owned a business for many years that he had worked for when he was a kid.  This person in the story had a very successful business for many years, but much of that was based on a very large key client.  A few years back they lost that client, just due to changes in the business.  They quickly slid to the point where they went out of business.  The owner committed suicide.  The person telling me the story said he knows he would never do that, but he understands.  That business was his baby.

I get it too.  Business owners, including most recruiters, put their heart and soul into their businesses.  That is definitely true for me.  It’s a tremendous experience and I wouldn’t trade it for anything.  I’ll enjoy the game tonight and I do live for my family first, but I live for this too.

Todd Kmiec

Todd Kmiec and Associates

todd@toddkmiec.com

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

