Home > Recruiting > End Of The Resume?

End Of The Resume?

February 20, 2012 Leave a comment Go to comments

Watching 60 minutes I saw someone from an outplacement organization suggest that the end of the resume is coming.

Not any time soon, I can tell you that. I don’t believe that we have one client that would consider a candidate without a resume. Yes, we do have clients check out Linkedin profiles and possibly other online profiles as well. However, the Resume is a must have as part of the process.

I don’t see that changing for a long time. It’s role has changed and other things are more involved, but it’s significance has not diminished at all.

  1. February 20, 2012 at 1:44 am

    Todd,

    I agree with you. Resumes are not going away anytime soon. in fact, I see them becoming more important in the Internet age. They get thrown into databases, and accessed via key words. Resumes that don’t have the right key words often fall through the cracks.

    Personally, I would love to see the resume disappear, but don’t see it happening anytime soon. Resumes eliminate more qualified people than they should in my opinion.

    The show also discussed the challenges of the long-term unemployed, and I do think that there is a lot of discrimination facing this group.

    When is that last time you were able to get a client to hire someone who has been out of work for three years?

    If you’ve been successful with these types of candidates, I tip my hat, because it’s not easy.

    These types of candidates are very difficult to get into the interview process, and my guess is that most recruiters don’t even bother.

    John

  2. February 20, 2012 at 4:46 pm

    Todd – I commented on twitter about this last nite. I will admit I did not see the entire segment, but that was one part I did see. After looking at the website for that program, there are a few things about it that concerned me, when it’s being featured on a national program.

  3. February 20, 2012 at 5:39 pm

    I happen to believe that the end of the resume is in sight. No, I don’t think we are there yet, I’m not even sure if the replacement for the resume is here yet, but I am confident that it is on it’s way out just the same. It is 16th century technology in the digital age and it needs to be replaced by something that does a better job of demonstrating a candidates true qualifications. As soon as the right tool comes along, you will see people abandon resumes like yesterday’s news.

  4. Wendell
    February 20, 2012 at 8:29 pm

    Just applied with a major public university about one week ago. There was an online pre-screening Q&A and then the actual application.

    There was no method provided for submitting either a resume or a cover letter.

    This was not a managerial, supervisory, or executive position, but there was no way to effectively sell yourself.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

